The Election Committee of the Livingston Avenue Area Commission (LAVA-C) has validated the petitions of the following seven (7) candidates to be placed on the ballot for the three (3) open seats and one (1) vacant seat for the office of Commissioner of the Livingston Avenue Area Commission.

  • Mario Fleming
  • David Gray
  • Brenten Johnson
  • Mustafaa Shabazz
  • Jennifer Thomas
  • Andrew Verhage
  • Jeremy Wachtel


There are three (3) open seats for a full three year term (Jan 2019 - Dec 2021) and one (1) vacant seat for the remainder of a term of one year (Jan 2019 - Dec 2019).


Voting will take place from 6:30pm – 7:30pm on Thursday, November 1st, 2018 at the Rickenbacker Woods Center in the rear building at 1330 E. Livingston Avenue.


In order to vote:

  • You must be eighteen (18) years of age or older and must be a resident of the Commission area for a minimum of thirty (30) days prior to the election.
  • You must provide identification and proof of residence within the LAVA-C boundaries in order to vote.  Such identification may:  be a valid driver’s license, state issued ID, other photo ID, Military ID or non-photo ID accompanied by another document to show residency within the LAVA-C boundaries.  The Election Committee’s determination of acceptable ID shall be final.  Affidavits and other sworn statements, by themselves, shall never be sufficient.


You may vote for up to, but no more than four (4) candidates to fill the open and vacant seats.  The three successful candidates with the most votes will serve the three (3) year terms, and the candidate with the fourth most votes will serve the remainder of the one (1) year term.